Florida’s Zero Tolerance law means that the penalties will be especially severe. Even one drink will most likely put you over the legal limit. If you have a BAC of 0.02%, you will automatically have your driver’s license suspended for six months. On a second DUI conviction, you will lose your license for one year. For drivers under 18, the law will suspend your license for 6 months and require you to undergo evaluation at an addictions facility or complete an alcohol education program.
Refusing to Take Chemical Tests
Refusing to take a blood, breath or urine test won’t help you. If you do refuse, your license will be suspended for one year. Each refusal after that results in an 18-month suspension.
Serious Consequences for Under 21 DUI
For underaged drivers who have a BAC over 0.08%, you will face the same consequences as an adult driver. These include:
• License Revocation – At least 180 days
• Fine – $250 to $500
• Imprisonment – Up to 6 Months
• Imprisonment with BAL of .08 or higher, minor in the vehicle- Up to 9 months
• Probation – Up to 1 Year
• DUI School – 12 Hours
• Community Service – 50 Hours
Just as with an adult DUI, a juvenile DUI will have lasting and life changing impacts. You’ll find that colleges and universities may refuse you admittance, some scholarships will be out of reach, and the military may not allow you to enlist.
What Can You Do?
A good DUI attorney can help you to work through these issues and may even be able to get the charges dropped. If you have a juvenile DUI conviction, you may be able to have it expunged from your record. It is very important that you contact a DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
Brian H Mallonee, Fort Pierce DUI Attorney
When you find yourself in need of a Fort Pierce DUI attorney, don’t settle for the cheapest guy in town. The law office of Brian H. Mallonee is dedicated to successfully representing every client at the highest level. With an extensive history of winning difficult cases, rest assured that your case is being dealt with by one of the most aggressive, distinguished defense attorneys in the state of Florida. Contact Port St Lucie criminal lawyer Brian Mallonee at (772) 464-1991 or online, and take your first step towards a successful resolution to your criminal matter.